The best AI health scan 2026 shoppers should consider is Neko Health if you want the broadest single-visit assessment for a flat fee, Prenuvo if you want deep MRI imaging of major organs, and Function Health if the goal is longitudinal biomarker tracking rather than imaging. None of the three has published a peer-reviewed study proving it extends life, and that gap matters more than the marketing suggests.
The three services are not really competing on the same axis. Neko sells a 60-minute sensor-and-blood workup, Prenuvo sells whole-body MRI, and Function Health sells a lab-panel membership with optional imaging bolted on. Picking the wrong one is expensive, and picking the right one still leaves you paying for a category the American College of Radiology does not recommend for average-risk adults.
What each service actually does
Neko's flagship visit is a physical station appointment. Neko's 60-minute scan includes an ECG, arterial measurements, body-composition analysis, and more than 2,000 high-resolution skin-mapping images, plus on-site blood processing. The hardware is proprietary, and Neko designs its own hardware, software, and clinic experience end-to-end, which it claims lets it add detection features faster than rivals relying on third-party machines.
Prenuvo is an MRI company. According to Prenuvo's product page, its most detailed whole-body scan uses a multi-sequence protocol covering brain, spine, abdomen and pelvis in under an hour, with no radiation and no contrast. Its Whole Body Scan and Core/Comprehensive memberships explicitly exclude arms and feet, BodySpec notes in its 2026 comparison.
Function Health is a lab platform first, imaging second. Function's own pricing page lists membership at $365 per year, including 160+ lab tests, clinician review, and a personalized action plan. Its imaging arm comes from the Ezra acquisition in May 2025, which added MRI scanning to the Function stack.
Neko Health vs Prenuvo: the philosophical split
The Neko Health vs Prenuvo debate is really a debate about what "early detection" means. Prenuvo scans for structural abnormalities: tumors, aneurysms, cysts, fatty liver. Neko scans for cardiovascular and dermatological signals plus body composition, then combines them with bloods. They are not substitutes.
The funding gap tells you which one Silicon Valley considers the platform bet. Neko's latest $700M round values the company at approximately $7 billion, roughly four times its January 2025 valuation of $1.8B, according to The Next Web. By comparison, Prenuvo has raised $192M and generates approximately $250M in annual revenue, TechFundingNews reports. Prenuvo is the older, more clinically established brand. Neko is the one investors are pricing as if it becomes the front door to preventive medicine.
Here is the detail that gets glossed over in most coverage: Neko does not have a single FDA clearance for the full scan. The FDA cleared two Neko devices via the 510(k) pathway in May 2026: Derma-2 (adjunctive telethermographic system) and Spectrum-2 (tissue-saturation oximeter); the clearances apply to individual devices, not to the complete Neko Health Scan as a single FDA-approved screening service, per AI News. Prenuvo and Ezra use standard 3T MRI hardware that has been in clinical use for decades. Neko's regulatory story is a collection of components, not a screening system.
AI body scan cost, tier by tier
AI body scan cost varies more than any category outside luxury cars, and the entry price is misleading. Here is what each provider actually charges in mid-2026:
- Neko Health (UK): £299 per scan, used in more than 100,000 appointments with a 75% rebooking rate according to TechFundingNews. Neko has not disclosed US pricing as of the July 2026 funding announcement.
- Prenuvo: Membership pricing from AuntMinnie's March 2026 report puts the Core Membership at $1,199 per year, Comprehensive at $2,499, and Executive at roughly $5,000. Prenuvo lists 21 US clinic locations.
- Function Health: $365 per year for the base membership, per Function's pricing page. Ezra's post-acquisition base scan lists at $499, or $899 for Function members, BodySpec's 2026 breakdown reports.
The hidden cost is the follow-up cascade. A whole-body MRI is not the end of the spend. BodySpec cites a large population study of 3,371 participants in which 30.3% received at least one incidental MRI finding, and of those who went on to biopsy, 62.1% showed no malignancy. That is the real reason the American College of Radiology has not endorsed screening whole-body MRI for asymptomatic adults. If your scan finds something ambiguous, you pay for the follow-up imaging, the biopsy, and the anxiety in between.
The clinical evidence problem nobody wants to talk about
All three services share the same weakness: they cannot yet show they extend lives. Neko's public clinical materials do not include a comparative study showing the combined approach improves clinical outcomes or cost-effectiveness versus established preventive-care pathways. Prenuvo publishes case studies but no randomized trial. Function Health publishes marketing testimonials.
The skepticism from working clinicians is not fringe. Some physicians question whether whole-body scans catch sufficient real disease to justify cost and risk of false positives, The Next Web notes in its coverage of the Neko round. That is not a fringe concern about a startup, it is the mainstream radiology position applied to the entire category.
There is a reasonable counterpoint, and it comes from behavior rather than biology. Daniel Ek told the New York Times: "We've gone into markets where health care is free, and hundreds of thousands of people line up in a queue" to pay for a Neko scan. Consumers are voting with their wallets even where the state offers alternatives. Whether that vote reflects informed choice or wellness marketing depending on the reader.
Full body scan worth it? A decision matrix
Asking "is a full body scan worth it" without qualifying who you are produces useless answers. The right lens is risk category and follow-up appetite.
- If you have a known high-risk genetic syndrome or strong family cancer pattern: MRI-based screening from Prenuvo has the strongest evidentiary footing, because you are no longer average-risk and incidental findings become clinically meaningful faster. Pair it with a clinician you already trust.
- If you want the broadest single-visit picture and live near a Neko clinic: Neko's combination of ECG, arterial measurements, skin mapping and bloods in one 60-minute appointment covers cardiovascular and dermatological ground the other two do not. Just understand you are paying for a preventive wellness service, not a diagnostic workup. Neko describes its US clinics as preventive health and wellness providers, not full-service medical practices; its privacy notice advises customers to keep seeing existing clinicians for diagnoses and treatment.
- If you are healthy, curious, and biomarker-driven: Function Health at $365 per year is the lowest-commitment entry into serious preventive tracking. You can add Ezra imaging later without changing platforms.
- If your primary worry is cancer: Neither Neko nor a standard whole-body MRI is a substitute for age-appropriate cancer screening. Colonoscopy, mammography and low-dose lung CT for smokers remain evidence-backed. A Prenuvo or Ezra scan is an addition, not a replacement.
The worst outcome is using any of these services to feel reassured out of standard screenings. All three companies say this in their disclaimers. Not all customers read them.
Preventive health screening services 2026: who is buying what
The preventive health screening services 2026 market has stratified into three consumer types, and each provider has picked one. Neko is chasing the mainstream affluent adult who wants a physical-first experience. Prenuvo is chasing the executive who wants the highest-resolution imaging money can buy. Function is chasing the quantified-self buyer who cares about ApoB and Lp(a) more than about images.
The demand signal is real, even if the evidence is not. More than 350,000 people are registered or on a waitlist globally as of July 2026, Neko's company-reported figure via The Next Web suggests. The individual investor list is a marketing document in itself: Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan invested as individuals, with other individual investors including Tim Ferriss, Maria Sharapova, Thierry Henry, Jimmy Iovine, and will.i.am.
Competition is coming from unexpected directions. Midjourney is building a competing body scanner integrated into a spa experience with hot tubs and saunas, planned for San Francisco in 2027, per The Next Web. An AI image lab entering preventive health hardware is a signal that the category boundary between wellness, medical device, and consumer tech is dissolving. For readers tracking that shift, our Health Tech coverage and AI Industry articles follow the money and the regulation.
What Neko's Apple Health integration actually buys you
The overlooked feature in Neko's pitch is not the sensor pods. It is the data layer underneath. Neko integrates with Apple Health data, which CEO Nilsonne says gives clinicians real-world longitudinal data to inform scan assessments. In June 2026, Neko added wearable integration and body-composition analysis and opened a new Stockholm clinic with next-generation hardware: Derma-2, Echo-2, and Spectrum-2 devices.
This is a category most competitors ignore. Prenuvo captures a scan every 12 months. Function captures blood every six months. Neko can pull in continuous heart-rate, sleep and activity data between visits, which is closer to how disease actually develops. Whether that translates into better diagnosis is unproven, but it is the only version of the pitch that explains the $7 billion valuation. If you already wear an Apple Watch or track with wearables and fitness tech, Neko's data layer is the one that meaningfully compounds over time.
The pick for most buyers
For a first-time buyer with no elevated risk profile, Function Health at $365 per year is the recommendation. It carries the lowest financial risk, produces the most actionable data for the average person, and does not commit you to imaging you may not need. If a Function panel flags something, you can escalate to Ezra imaging inside the same platform without paying Prenuvo's premium.
If you are set on imaging specifically, wait for Neko's US pricing before locking in a Prenuvo membership. Neko has not disclosed US rates, but the UK £299 benchmark and the funding round both suggest an aggressive price point that will reset the market when it lands. Prenuvo's Comprehensive at $2,499 is not going to look like the obvious answer once Neko posts a US number. And whichever service you pick, keep your primary care doctor in the loop, because the one thing none of these companies do is replace them.